15 gas stations shut by DPR in Osogbo


The Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) in Osogbo, the Osun State capital, has sealed 15 Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) stations for operating without valid licences.

DPR Operations Controller, Ademola Makinde, who spoke to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) over the weekend in Osogbo, said the agency had begun a clampdown on illegal gas stations and will intensify its surveillance operation.

He said: “We will continue to clamp down on illegal gas stations for the safety of our people. The only recognised operators are refilling gas plants and stand alone gas stations with valid licences.

“We cannot allow people make money at the expense of the people’s lives. There are basic safety rules and procedures to be followed in LPG business, and those not ready to follow this will not be allowed to remain in business.

“DPR is a regulatory body and there are regulations binding the operations of gas plants which must be maintained by the operators.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here