Ogun Gov. Abiodun sets up Panel on MAUSTECH, Ogun Poly

Gov. Dapo Abiodun

Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, has constituted a committee to look into the operational modalities of Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta (MAUSTECH) and Ogun State Polytechnic, Ipokia.

Abiodun in a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Kunle Somorin, stated that this has become necessary as the State-owned Moshood Abiola Polytechic (MAPOLY), has been comatose since the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and Ogun State Polytechnic, Ipokia were created.

He added that as a result of unresolved issues, the fate of candidates and students of MAPOLY and their lecturers now hang in a balance, while academic activities have been disrupted.

He however ordered that MAPOLY should revert to status quo ante with full academic activities restored, with the committee determining the way forward for the new institutions.

The statement reads “As a responsible Government, we cannot fold our arms and allow the situation to continue.

“We cherish human capital development. This committee is therefore set up to holistically review the status, viability and sustainability of these newly established institutions.

The review committee is expected to recommend operational modalities for these institutions after interfacing with stakeholders in the education sector.

The committee headed by the former Vice Chancellor of Tai Solarin University of Education, Prof. Segun Awonusi, has the following terms of reference:

* Ascertain the current operational status of Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and Ogun State Polytechnic. Ipokia;

*Identify issues and challenges related to the establishment and operations of the two institutions;

*Determine the viability and sustainability of the institutions on a long term basis;

*Identify any other issue(s) related to the objectives of the assignment; and

*Make recommendations for the consideration of the Government.

Other members of the committee include, Alhaji Waheed Kadiri, fomer Rector of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Prof. Joseph Odemuyiwa, a season academician and National President of Workplace Educators & Managers Association of Nigeria (WEMAN), Dr Biodun Oluseye, a Chief Lecturer at the Federal Polytchnic Ilaro, Barrister Abeeb Ajayi, a seasoned lawyer and administrator.

Others are the National President of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Alumni Association, H.O. Ayoade and Dr. Waheed  Olanloye, Director Primary and tertiary education in the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology who will serve as the committee’s secretary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here